Bouncing Around the Blogosphere: {Terrible Yellow Eyes}

 

Terrible Yellow Eyes

Of all the Bouncing Around the Blogosphere posts I’ve done in the past year or so, this one is, by far, my absolute favorite. For me, this blog was love at first sight. How could it not be? Terrible Yellow Eyes features two of my favorite things: creative variations on a theme and one of my favorite children’s books, “Where the Wild Things Are.” Select artists were invited by the blog’s creator, Cory Godbey, to create a work inspired by Maurice Sendak’s book.  And it looks like the idea is going to pay off with an exhibition.

As I’m sure you’ve heard, a movie based on the book is coming out later this year. I’ve seen a preview, and it looks like the movie will be as visually stunning as the book, which makes me immensely happy. I can’t wait to see it.

I’m posting some of my favorite works from the blog below. It was soooo hard to narrow them down to this many. If you’re up for it,  post your favorites as a comment or blog post. It would be very interesting to see who likes what, and who doesn’t like “Where the Wild Things Are”?

"Shadows" by Terrible Yellow Eyes creator Cory Godbey

"Shadows" by Terrible Yellow Eyes creator Cory Godbey

"Lonely" by Rekha Thorat

"Lonely" by Rekha Thorat

"crowned" by Jared Chapman

"crowned" by Jared Chapman

"Hide and Seek" by Dan Matutina

"Hide and Seek" by Dan Matutina

Shadow Box by Jeremy Vanhoozer

Shadow Box by Jeremy Vanhoozer

Explore posts in the same categories: Bouncing Around the Blogosphere, Original Art

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

