’70s Playgrounds

rocketship slide

I ran into this post via another blog I like to read, and my heart skipped a few beats because somehow, somewhere, I’ve seen that rocketship slide. I don’t know where, and I don’t know how given that I was born in the late ’70s, and the odds of them still being around til I was big enough to play on one, while possible, are still quite slim. 

Could you imagine these today? Parents would see them more as a death trap or, at the very least, a tetanus shot just waiting to happen rather than a fun place to play. Our primary school playground had this giant spider climbing structure made out of metal and concrete similar to the one below. It never failed, every year at least one kid would hurt themselves on it, whether by falling off or tripping over one of the legs. One year, the lucky little booger was my brother. He bashed his head on the midsection somehow and had to get stitches. When the school nurse called to tell my parents that their kid fell off the spider, they knew exactly what she was talking about.

Do you have any interesting stories about how, by today’s standards, you faced certain danger while playing in your own backyard?

Click here to read the entire post.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

6 Comments on “’70s Playgrounds”

  1. rhodeislandredchick Says:

    Growing up there was a playground in North Little Rock at Burns Park that look a lot like the first park! We always called it the “rocket slide” and we LOVED it. It was just replaced like 2 years ago.

  2. Randy Says:

    I found this searching Rock Ship Slide. There was something like this just North of Houston, Texas at Bear Creek Park. There are no TALL slides anymore. Thanks for posting.

    • audra Says:

      omg, i remember Bear Creek park and the rocket ship! We spent many of our Easter Gatherings there in the 70’s. OH how I wish I could go back in time to those days!

  3. Denzil Pugh Says:

    It’s identical to the one at the Stars And Stripes park at Lake Hefner in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Of course, it’s gone now, but I played on it a lot till I moved in 1987. It was still there when I went to visit in the 90’s, but no longer. :(

  4. Tammy Says:

    Have you been to Coffeyville Kansas because that sure looks like our park … the rocket was remove but I think that was in our town

  5. Carla Says:

    The ROCKETT SLIDE is in Little Rock, Ark. It was refurbished an fitted with plastic slides..But, recently and most sadly someone decided to get their kicks by setting fire to them… We all hope the city restores it! There’s an awful lot of us Arkansans that share many,many childhood memories playing in, an sliding down that ole thing!! And to my knowledge…none of us ever got maimed or disfigured. lol


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

