The Art on My Walls: Steve Horan

"Vineyard Wildflowers," pastel painting by Bella Vista-based artist Steve Horan

Spent a little time arranging artwork on our walls recently. It’s a serious balancing act. We FINALLY found the perfect space for a mask we picked up on our honeymoon in Costa Rica three years ago. But that’s always been my MO with art . Like it. Buy it. Figure out how it fits in later. If my walls end up cluttered with wall-to-wall art like the Louvre, I’m way OK with that. Anyway, all this rearranging made me appreciate the first piece that went up ¬†and has never moved. Not even an inch. It’s a print of this pastel, “Sunny Day in Arkansas, No. 2″ by Steve Horan.

I met local artist Steve Horan many moons ago while scoping out local galleries as an entertainment reporter. I love his use of color and his serene, abstract style. His rural landscapes are so soft and cheerful, like something from a hazy dream you’re squinting to remember. His urban landscapes emit a buzz of energy, but one that whispers and beckons. I was torn between the two when deciding which to buy. But in the end, it had to be the Arkansas landscape above, which reminds me of the amazing mountain views that quieted my mind on my drive to and from college.

Other Horan works:

“City at Night,” acrylic painting by Steve Horan

"Prairie Restoration," pastel painting by Steve Horan

Visit his website here to see more of his work.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

