Are Ready-Made Gardens for You?

Digging in the dirt is therapeutic for me, but that’s not necessarily the case when it comes to driving all over town to find plants. I can spend hours in lawn and garden centers searching for the perfect plant/color combination. And I usually buy way more than I need, all in the name of “it was pretty.”

This year, a catalog I got in the mail changed my way of thinking. Sure, I bought plants for the pots I’ve got scattered around, but when it came to the flower beds, I just couldn’t resist their ready-made gardens.

You can choose the perfect arrangement for your yard and space – sun, shade, moonlight, drought tolerant, deer resistant, etc., etc. They take the guesswork out of it by only shipping when it’s appropriate for your growing zone. (I fell victim to this faux pas last year when I lost quite a few plants to a late freeze.) And they also supply you with a planting schematic. Super easy.  

I know that ordering plants through the mail may seem a bit unorthodox, but I thought I’d give it a shot. It also helped that the catalog included a 50% off your entire order offer. (In the end, I spent quite a bit less than I normally would have had I been shopping around all over town.)

Here’s what I experienced once the shipment arrived:

Opening the box of gardening goodies.

Opening the box of gardening goodies. I couldn't believe everything actually fit into one box.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Potted plants were packaged in these plastic holders. The bottom flap secured the pot while the open upper section protected the live plant.

Potted plants were packaged in these plastic holders. The bottom flap secured the pot while the open upper section protected the live plant. None of the plants arrived damaged.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some of the potted plants also arrived in these cardboard holders.

Some of the potted plants also arrived in these cardboard holders. The pots inside were wrapped in mini-plastic bags to keep moisture in the soil during the shipping process.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here's what the 15 plants for the drought-tolerant sun garden looked like once they were out of the box.

Here's what the 15 plants and the schematic for the drought-tolerant sun garden looked like once they were out of the box.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It is recommended that everything be planted at once, but instructions are included in case you can’t get them into the ground upon arrival. Mine actually came in the midst of this year’s rainypalooza season; however, I did manage to get all but seven bulbs planted last weekend. Those bulbs spent all week in the veggie crisper of my fridge until I planted them this morning.

The seven bulbs I planted this morning, meeting the fantasia mum neighbors that moved in last week.

The seven bulbs I planted this morning, meeting the fantasia mum neighbors that moved in last week.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here’s what the stuff I planted a week ago looks like now:

Week 1: Drought-tolerant sun garden progress

Week 1: Drought-Tolerant Sun Garden progressing nicely

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Week 1: Progress on the Easy-Care Summer through Fall Sun Garden

Week 1: Progress on the Easy-Care Summer through Fall Sun Garden is kind of hard to see at this angle, but everything seems to be going well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All in all, I am quite pleased thus far. The plants are rather small and not nearly as developed as those I would buy at a local nursery. But I’m okay with this since nurturing the plants and watching them grow is part of the process.  

Another nice thing is that most of the plants I’ve just never really seen around here, so I like that aspect as well. I’ll keep you posted on their progress. Hopefully, they’ll look like this about this time next year:

Last year's transplanted perennials are making a comeback

Last year's transplanted perennials are making a comeback after an introduction to the new fantasia mums.

Explore posts in the same categories: Around the House

Leave a Reply

