Skeletown by Rhode Montijo

This limited edition print was released at the 2005 Comic Con in San Diego, where the books will be released this year.

This limited edition print was released at the 2005 Comic Con in San Diego, where the books will be released this year.

 

I came across this while doing my daily browsing rounds, and it was love at first sight.  So far, “Skeletown” is  only a concept for what is to become a book series and merchandise.

 The world is inspired by the Mexican folk art of the Day of the Dead, which I’ve always found beautiful and fascinating–odd for me, I know, given my zeal for zombies and love of horror movies (read sarcasm.)

The … um… boy flying the kite is Skully, who appears to be the main protagonist and below are his friend, Skelly, and (sidekick?) Wilfredo. The site has more pics, but my favorite thing about it was that is showed some of the visual influences, including Frida Kahlo’s headress and Mexican worry dolls. I just absolutely love it, and I’m crossing my fingers that  I can get my hands on one of these books.

via Drawn!

SkellyWilfredo

Explore posts in the same categories: Original Art

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

