A new passion: crochet

 

My favorite baby in her crocheted sweater

 

My good friend CJ showed up at the office one day, telling us how she found some supplies, taught herself how and crocheted a scarf that past weekend. She gave me a short tutorial, and I thought… I can do this!

Well, it’s about 6 weeks later, and I am really enjoying my new hobby.

Some goofball in a hat

 

I wanted to share some tools I have found useful. Lion Brand Yarn has a website that is wonderful. They have a database of free patterns that you can save to your profile. Then when you are ready to start your project, all the info is right there. Bonus: they have a mobile version of the website, so you can sit and crochet on the couch, without bothering to print out the instructions or pattern. That, paired with the user reviews has been very helpful. Some of the photos seem kind of dated, but you just have to imagine your creation in your choice of yarn and individual flare.

My friend applefritter sent me a link to the site CraftBits. They have all kinds of instructions for all types of crafts, but their crochet section is full of different ideas. I incorporated a poppy on this hat I made for my mother-in-law.

I will keep you posted on any other new projects I complete.

Explore posts in the same categories: Around the House, Interesting Finds

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

